2005-10-23
4:52 a.m.

Various stuff

Manners and Discipline

Have you ever tried smiling and saying good morning to the person who�s, say, sitting next to you at the bus stop or at a shop counter? What kind of responses do you usually get from these people? I bet it�s normally �huh?� or they back away with a suspicious look on their faces (or they would if they could, I bet).

Well, here in North America (NA) it�s different. Those people�d probably smile and greet you back.

So why is it different here? Some people say it�s because Asians are generally more shy and conservative. But then again, Asians abound in NA too. In fact, Hong Kongers can be found all over Calgary. There�s also a sprinkling of Singaporeans.

I just held a conversation with a Filipino couple at the baby clinic (nephew getting immunized today). Can�t imagine doing so back home because the other party would probably just stare or glower at me.

At the shops the shop assistants greet you with �Hi, how are ya?�. Back home it�s �Can I hepchoo?�. Here they hold decent conversation with you as they ring up your purchases. Back home their lips are sealed.

Is it in pursuit of efficiency and speed that we have lost our manners? What do you think?

===================================

When I was young, disobedience meant either the cane, the belt, or the clothes hanger. Here in NA, such things are not only frown upon or unheard of.. you could be sued if someone saw you even smacking a kid�s (here referring to anyone from really a kid to a teenager) hand.

As a result you do get kids who are rude, naughty and disobedient. My niece is one example/ she�s super cute, but throws a huge tantrum and sulks when she doesn�t get her way. And she doesn�t listen to parents at once. Oh she�ll do whatever�s asked, but at her own time and pleasure. Ever tried asking a kid who�s dilly dallying to hurry up and dress to go out? It could take anything from half an hour to an hour. Back when I was a kid I�d have been thrashed to kingdom come by my mum. But not so here. You can�t do that.

So this is where NA differs from Singapore. But back home, well, I guess the generation today is really different as well. Kids tend to challenge adults more. And by �challenge� I mean challenge. Not just question, but CHALLENGE.

What is the world coming to?

===================================

Conversations with the niece

Conversation 1:

My sister reported this conversation to me this morning:

Sister: Angel, where is yee yee?
Angel: Yee yee is downstairs drinking her medicine.
Sister: Huh? What medicine?
Angel: Her die-die medicine!
Sister: ?!?!

For the record, I was drinking home-made honey lemon juice! Didn�t know you could die from drinking that?!?!

Conversation 2:

Angel: My tummy aches!!
Sister: Then we put you at grandma�s place when we go out ok?
Angel: Orh.
*pause*
Sister: Oh! I know why she wants to go there! She�s afraid I�ll ask the nurse to vaccinate her too!

For the record, my nephew is getting his vaccinations today. And my sister usually threatens to get the RNs to jab her as well if she�s naughty. See how scheming my niece is??

Conversation 3:

Angel: (watching TV) Mummy, I want a baby in my tummy!
Sister: A WHAT?!
Angel: A baby! I want a baby in my tummy!
Me and sister: ?!?!

Faintz! My silly niece has developed maternal instincts really young huh! =p

OK. Time to stop her from flooding us again! Ta!

[<<<] - [>>>]

Look Around
current
archive
email
My Homepage
host

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)