2004-05-17
12:12 a.m.

AIDS Candlelight Memorial

This is my first year attending it. It's a really meaningful way of raising awareness, I must say. Although I think that the event proper could probably have been better organised, I think it was rather successful.

That last statement of the above paragraph is in no small way due to the 95 cadets and 4 other HQ personnel who went for the event. You guys and gals know who you are. On behalf of a grateful SRC, THANK YOU.

Also, I hope you've all learnt something from the event. (How not to let your candle flame burn the cup?? :p)

Singaporeans need to be more educated about AIDS. It's no longer a homosexual or drug-related disease. It's no longer about you-deserved-it-cos-of-your-lifestyle, or you-asked-for-it-cos-you-shared-needles. People need to realise why people contract the disease, and STOP DISCRIMINATION and STIGMATISATION.

Those last two words.. they're a very real problem. I mean, face it. It's human nature.

Quick short test.. Be honest here. If I said I tested HIV-positive, how many of you would go 'eeyer...' and keep away from me? Think about it.

This post is dedicated to those patients under attack by the deadly virus. My prayers are especially for you tonight.

Our Father in Heaven, Hallowed be Thy Name. Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done on earth as it is in Heaven. Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. Lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil. Amen.

[<<<] - [>>>]

Look Around
current
archive
email
My Homepage
host

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)