2003-10-07
3:24 p.m.

Termination

This is my second entry for the day. I just walked out of the meeting room, after a sad meeting. Why sad, you may ask.

We have just decided to terminate the services of a particular volunteer. The meeting and decision raised a few issues in my mind. It made me wonder why people volunteer in the first place. Why must people create such unhappiness? Shouldn't people volunteer because they want to, and not because they expect some perks in return? Maybe I'm being stupidly idealistic here, but I believe in voluntarism, and it upsets me to hear people saying 'must have some perks in order to volunteer.. otherwise volunteer for what?'

Well, I think we've made the right decision in terminating this chap. The boss is right.. if a volunteer does not add value to the organisation he / she serves, then perhaps the organisation should rethink about whether or not it should keep such a person. Something to that effect. I paraphrased his words.

Well, I bear the volunteer no grudges. In fact, I hardly know him, and I've never spoken to him. I hope he's learnt a lesson from this little crisis he created.

Maybe now I know why it rained early in the morning. And the rain has stopped now.

[<<<] - [>>>]

Look Around
current
archive
email
My Homepage
host

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)