2005-08-29
7:22 p.m.

The Case of the Missing Patient

Date: Some time last week
Time: Evening (about 7pm)

Got a call from my mum saying that RT was warded in SGH, Ward 29.

So we rushed all the way to pick mum, then all the way to SGH. (SBW - TAMPINES - OUTRAM)

Venue: SGH Block 2

We couldn't find a Ward 29. Simply cos there ISN'T a Ward 29. And couldn't call RT either. His hp batt flatted out on him.

Venue: A&E

Me: Do you have a patient by the name of RTKK who's warded this afternoon? He came in for chest pain.

Doc: Let me check.. Yeah.. Ward 74, Rm 11, Bed 1.

Me: ??!! He said Ward 29??

Doc: Well, it's stated here it's 74/11/1.

Me: OK Thanks doctor. I'll find my way there.

So we rushed to 74/11/1.

Venue: 74/11/1

We walked into Rm 11 and stared at the empty bed 1. Then went to the nurses' station.

Me: Excuse me, ma'am. (Can thank RC for making me call every stranger ma'am or sir) I'm looking for a patient by the name of RTKK. The doctor at A&E told me he's here but I don't see any patient on his bed.

Nurse: Oh.. haven't arrive yet.

Me: HUH?? He was here since afternoon, ma'am.

Nurse: Let me check.

Nurse: We don't have a RTKK. Only have a RTEK at 74/11/1. Where does he stay?

Me: Tampines, ma'am. I spell his name for you. R***** T** K*** K**.

Nurse: Got 1 in Clementi, 1 in Woodlands, but no Tampines leh?

Me: !!!

We looked at each other. Then decided to call the GP who made the referral to see which hospital he was referred to.

GP: Oh. I referred him to Changi.

Us: !!!!!

=======================================

What happened:

He called my dad to say he was admitted to GENERAL HOSPITAL. So, dad and mum happily assumed it was SINGAPORE GENERAL HOSPITAL, hence the big booboo. SIGH!

So everyone out there reading this, be warned!! GENERAL HOSPITAL is not necessarily SINGAPORE GENERAL HOSPITAL!

Bleahs!

[<<<] - [>>>]

Look Around
current
archive
email
My Homepage
host

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)