2005-05-04
12:28 a.m.

Goodbye, Sir

He celebrated my 21st birthday with me. In Jubilee Hall, Raffles Hotel. It was the biggest birthday gift anyone's ever given me. I was involved in Margaret Chan��s performance of 'Emily of Emerald Hill', and former President Dr Wee Kim Wee was the Guest-of-Honour. Humble, friendly, unassuming, and ever smiling. That's how I remember him. A very affable man.

Today, as I walked into the State Room with my colleagues and volunteers, I noticed that he wasn't smiling. Obviously. But I mean, sometimes the embalmers make them smile, don't they?

Early in the evening, a whole group of staff and volunteers went for the wake of this man, one well-beloved by his people. He's not known as the People's President for nothing. Something just simply choked me up as I stood with two other uniformed volunteers by my side. As the three of us lifted our arms in salute to pay homage to the man who was our country's leader for 8 years, dozens of emotions just washed me away. I was at once sad, proud, touched, and thankful.

Sad - for having lost someone I looked up to.
Proud - for having known a great man, someone who would go down in the annals of Singapore's history books.
Touched - by the numerous people, Singaporeans and foreigners alike, who came to pay tribute to my President.
Thankful - for being given the opportunity to know this man, and to have been given the opportunity to say goodbye to him.

Goodbye, Sir. May you rest in peace after a long journey.

=======================================


Goodbye Dr Wee
May you ever grow in our hearts
You were the grace that placed itself
Where lives were torn apart
You called out to our country
And you whispered to those in pain
Now you belong to heaven
And the stars spell out your name

And it seems to me you lived your life
Like a candle in the wind
Never fading with the sunset
When the rain set in
And your footsteps will always fall here
Along the country��s greenest hills
Your candle's burned out long before
Your legend ever will

Loveliness we've lost
These empty days without your smile
This torch we'll always carry
For our nation's golden child
And even though we try
The truth brings us to tears
All our words cannot express
The joy you brought us through the years

And it seems to me you lived your life
Like a candle in the wind
Never fading with the sunset
When the rain set in
And your footsteps will always fall here
Along the country��s greenest hills
Your candle's burned out long before
Your legend ever will

Goodbye Dr Wee
May you ever grow in our hearts
You were the grace that placed itself
Where lives were torn apart
Goodbye Dr Wee
From a country lost without your soul
Who'll miss the wings of your compassion
More than you'll ever know

And it seems to me you lived your life
Like a candle in the wind
Never fading with the sunset
When the rain set in
And your footsteps will always fall here
Along the country��s greenest hills
Your candle's burned out long before
Your legend ever will

Thank you, Elton John.

[<<<] - [>>>]

Look Around
current
archive
email
My Homepage
host

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)