2007-04-01
8:17 p.m.

She

That was the title of the tribute presentation done in her honour.

She - devoted almost 13 years of her life to the Singapore Red Cross (20 years to Singapore).

She - was the longest serving Secretary General in the SRC.

She - believes that there is good in everyone, and believed that everyone is inherently good.

She - believes in me.

She said it again last night. The important work that a humanitarian worker does, the most fulfilling moment for one, lies in the knowledge that you have made a difference in someone's life.

Many gathered last night. Old staff, current staff, new staff, old volunteers, young volunteers, sponsors, etc.

Many teared (yes, including myself) when bidding her farewell last night.

I saw this sign at a shop this morning, and was reminded of her - 'It's farewell, but not goodbye'.

So, farewell, Geri! Thank you for making a difference in my life, and for believing in me. The utmost compliment and biggest honour that you bestowed on me, was when you told my soulmate that I reminded you of you when you were a social worker in Hawaii.

Aloha, Geri!

'I hope that in the future 5,10 years and beyond you will continue to share and give at the SRC, and bring hope and joy to the many people that need our help. Social Work provides us a lot of training, but opportunities to apply our training and make a difference is only our opportunity. This is where being a humanitarian worker, sums it up so well. Let's always serve humanity and bring hope to the many that look to us to make that difference.' - Mrs Geri Naomi Sonada Lau, Secretary General, Singapore Red Cross (1995 - 2007)

[<<<] - [>>>]

Look Around
current
archive
email
My Homepage
host

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)