2005-11-09
11:02 p.m.

UPDATE!!!!

Yes yes.. before my demanding readers complain about the lack of updates, here I am.

I shouldn't be updating today, actually. I have to go to the airport at 4am to send off our 2 delegates to Japan. Then pick up someone at 6.30am.

Anyway.

=======================================

I have one interesting piece of news to share.

On my way from Vancouver to Hong Kong in Air Can, an incident happened.

Capt: Ladies and Gentlemen, we have a medical situation on board. If there are any medical personnel on board this aircraft we would appreciate it if you could please identify yourself to any of our crew.

Here's my chain of thoughts:

1. Should I offer to help?
2. Nah.. I'm not medical personnel. If they ask me about some medical stuff I'll be stumped.
3. More than 300 plus people on board. Surely must have at least a doctor or a nurse right?

So I waited awhile. Then my conscience hit me. So I stopped a steward and asked 'have you guys found your medical personnel yet?'. He said yes they have. So I was relieved.

Then another steward came to me and said 'I heard you're a nurse?' and I was like.. 'uh.. no. I'm not medically trained, but I do have some experience in first aid if that'll be useful?'. He said yes, so I went with him behind.

Well, it turned out that after they'd served the cup noodles, a mother knocked the cup over, and the contents spilled on her 16-month-old daughter, causing SECOND DEGREE BURNS on the girl's left leg. LEG. As in the whole thing from thigh to foot.

There were blisters, and some were so huge they burst (well, burst by the time I got there). Someone else had already wrapped an ice-water-soaked face towel round the leg. Two towels, in fact. One on the upper area and the other on the lower.

I'm glad I'm a first aider. Really. Who'd have thought that in a flight of more than 300 plus people, NOT A SINGLE NURSE OR DOCTOR COULD BE FOUND?!?!

Anyway, well, open and shut case lah.. cool the area, keep it infection-free as much as possible, blah blah blah. And when we touched down, there was a doc ready to meet the family. Fortunately the incident occurred not long before landing, so the poor kid didn't have to suffer too long.

So yep. That was my eventful flight to HK.

=======================================

I don't jet lag. Not much anyway. But I was forced to lag cos everynight in HK I'm woken up by a bouncing and hopping monster at 3.00am or thereabouts. Haiz.

Nevertheless.

My first impression of HK, to be truthful, wasn't that great. I shall not elaborate. But Minz, Tris and Van would probably know why I said that.

=======================================

So anyway I'm now back at work. Slogging away. Haiz.

Alright. I think I'd better go sleep. Have to be up at 3am. Toodle'oo!

[<<<] - [>>>]

Look Around
current
archive
email
My Homepage
host

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)