2004-02-16
8:01 p.m.

Of Terrorists, WMDs and CBRNs

Attended a course at MOH today. Course title: Mental Health Response to Terrorism. Had two lecturers from CA, USA..

So the whole day was spent talking about terrorists, terrorism, WMDs (Weapons of Mass Destruction), CBRNs (Chemical, Biological, Radioactive, Nuclear Weapons), etc etc etc related topics. And of course, top of the list, since our two esteemed lecturers are from USA, about terrorism, is 9-11.

I must say, they did a very good job. Something choked me a little when we watched all those videos of the planes flying into the WTC Towers.. they even got footage of the two towers AS THEY COLLAPSED. And, to top it all off, they got clips and stills of PEOPLE JUMPING OFF THE TWO TOWERS, somersaulting through the air as they fell...

Edited clips showed computer printouts of photos stained by tears, words such as 'WHY??', 'Sharon I hope you made it out', and millions of others saying 'I love you'.. Scenes of devastation, yet.. scenes of hope as well.. someone filmed a bunch of thousands of people gathered by the roadside with signages that read 'Thank You! You're our heroes' and cheered and waved as the rescue workers and other responders went by..

At the end of one of the videoclips, one of the lecturers asked us to reflect on what we saw and discuss it with our neighbours. I found myself wondering what I'd have done had I been there? Would I have run away like the masses? Would I have whipped out my camera and taken photos? Would I have gone and offered my services? I don't know.

What would YOU have done?

[<<<] - [>>>]

Look Around
current
archive
email
My Homepage
host

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)