2004-02-02
1:39 p.m.

A little piece of history

Was picked up at 6.30am by friends to go to Kent Ridge Park (KRP) for breakfast. Well, that was the intention anyway. However, due to the tardiness of some people, breakfast was consumed at the Food Centre opposite the former WTC (now called Harbour Front).

We DID, however, proceed to KRP after that. Had a nice walk around the park, including a tree-top walk along the newly-constructed Tree-Top Atrium (don't know the exact name for it).

Beautiful morning. The tree-top trail ended up at Bukit Chandu Museum. I have this to say about the Museum: Those of you who have never been there should go there if you have the chance. I think the government spent a couple of millions building it. Entrance fee is only a dollar for holders of the NTUC link card. But even if it's more expensive, it's well worth the money.

The Museum exhibits, with high-tech sight and sound presentations, the battle that was fought along the Pasir Panjang Ridge (now Kent Ridge) during World War II.

Generations of Singaporeans have come and go since WWII. Scenes of war flashed through my mind as I read the displays and viewed the presentations. I count myself extremely lucky that I never had to go through those terrible times. And I thank, from the bottom of my heart, the countless heroes who, probably long forgotten by these our newer younger generations, sacrificed their lives for the dignity and the freedom of what we now call home.

For the first time in my life, this history made me proud to be a Singaporean. Not that I've never felt that before, but the trip to the Museum ignited something in me.. I can't describe it, but I'll never forget it.

I think kids nowadays should be given the opportunity to re-visit our history, not only through the textbooks, but through interactive and other more interesting means that would make an otherwise dull subject come alive for them.

From a humbled citizen... thank you.

[<<<] - [>>>]

Look Around
current
archive
email
My Homepage
host

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)