2007-01-10
10:18 p.m.

Moving on...

... 36 days after the emergency surgery to restore the detached retina (yes, for those of you who don't know, that's the reason for my 1-month confinement to home).

I've been back at work since Monday 8 Jan. Someone smsed me a day before that to ask how I felt about it, whether I was excited or apprehensive (or worried, as she put it). How to answer? But she knows how I feel about it. Else she wouldn't have asked, I guess. Thank you, my friend, for your concern. I really appreciate it.

Doldrums. Dictionary.com definition:
�noun (used with a plural verb)
1. a state of inactivity or stagnation, as in business or art: August is a time of doldrums for many enterprises.
2. the doldrums, a. a belt of calms and light baffling winds north of the equator between the northern and southern trade winds in the Atlantic and Pacific oceans.
b. the weather prevailing in this area.
3. a dull, listless, depressed mood; low spirits.

I guess that kinda explains a little of what I've been feeling for the last 38 days, punctuated by occasional (quite rare I must say) bouts of cheer. I only remember ONE particularly good day - the day Dr Ian said I'm totally free to gallivant (his exact word used) as I like. Not that I'd wanted to go gallivanting much, but it meant there's no major problems with the surgery and the eye's on the road to good recovery.

I want to place on record my deepest appreciation to those who came all the way to this ulu village to visit me. I'm sorry I wasn't a more gracious host - there's only this much one can do when ordered to look down and face down for all of 2 and a half weeks or so. And being stuck at home for that many days isn't exactly my idea of a fun time. But I digress. I really am grateful for everyone who had shown their concern in one way or another. Thank you.

Thank you. These 2 words seem so simple and yet I can't think of any better word or phrase to replace them. Isn't the English Language a strange one? We have so many synonyms for other words, but yet nothing seems to come close to these 2 words of appreciation. They seem to be all encompassing and yet I feel they're insufficient and inadequate in describing the feeling at times. I guess only one person will know exactly what I'm rambling on and on about.

So. Thank you, to this one person who knows exactly what I'm talking about. And don't tell me to shut up, or say that I'm saying thank you for nothingness again. Because I'm not.

Moving on...

[<<<] - [>>>]

Look Around
current
archive
email
My Homepage
host

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)