2004-01-14
11:03 p.m.

My back has gone on strike

Yep. First time it happened I was bedridden for 3 whole days. That was way back in 2001. It happened again before this, but not to such a big extent. This one's really bad..

It was a Saturday afternoon and I was in a school helping with recruitment when all of a sudden my lumbar decided to give way.

Wanted to take a cab back home to rest, but before we'd even left the area, the vibrations of the car as it moved along caused me to wince in pain. Noticing it, the cab driver asked me what happened, and I explained as best I could. He suggested that I should go to A&E to have it checked out, and so I did.

T'was about 3.30 pm then.. I waited till like 6.00 pm before I got to see the doctor. He asked if I wanted to stay in hospital but I said no. From past experience it'd go away after a few days. So anyway, the long and short of it all was that I was placed under observation for 2 hours and after that he asked me again if I wanted to be admitted. And again I said no, so I got discharged.

He gave me 7 days' MC. Still, I had to go back to work Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. And I suspect Friday as well. Wonder what's the point of having the MC then.. SIGH.

Anyway, the back's better already. Just that I didn't want to wear the spinal support corset today cos it's very uncomfortable and hot when I wear it. Kinda aggravated the condition a little. Chinese would probably call it bao4 ying4 - I deserved it.

Ah well.. I've got an appointment with the Orthopaedic Clinic on 21 Jan.. talk about bad timing.. eve of CNY and I gotta go SGH. Haiz.. Hope something good comes out of it. Otherwise I'm gonna get nagged at no end by my manager who's been after me to go for yoga classes for the last few months. Bleah.

[<<<] - [>>>]

Look Around
current
archive
email
My Homepage
host

Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)